The 48th annual European Olympic Committees (EOC) General Assembly in Warsaw

The Hungarian Order of Merit awarded to Mustapha Berraf
October 23, 2019
Algerian Taoufik Makhloufi awarded Medal of Order of Merit
October 27, 2019

The 50 European National Olympic Committees (ENOCs) are ready to travel to Poland this week for the 48th annual European Olympic Committees (EOC) General Assembly in Warsaw on 25 and 26 October.

Opening the assembly, which is part of the Polish NOC centenary celebrations, will be Polish NOC President and host of the event, Andrzej Krasnicki and EOC President Janez Kocijančič.

International Olympic Committee (IOC) President Thomas Bach will also be present to deliver a welcoming speech on the first day meeting.

In a busy agenda, delegates will have the task of approving the new EOC Articles of Association and a revision of the EYOF Charter. The Candidate Cities of the 2025 Winter and Summer European Youth Olympic Festivals will also be announced.

In addition, delegates will receive the final report detailing all the EOC events in 2019, as well as reports on future Games, notably the 3rd European Games in Krakow & the Malopolska Region of Poland in 2023 and the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 and Olympic Winter Games Beijing 2022. Also on the agenda are reports on Olympic Solidarity, the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), the EOC Commissions and the European Union.

The meeting in Warsaw will also celebrate some of Europe’s best athletes and sports administrators with the announcement of the winners of the 9th Piotr Nurowski Prize, the European Olympic Laurel Awards and the EOC Order of Merit. The five finalists for the summer edition of the Piotr Nurowski prize are: Franko GRGIĆ (Croatian – Swimmer), Giorgia VILLA (Italian – Gymnast), Liza PUSZTAI (Hungarian – Fencer), Madis MIHKELS (Estonian – Cyclist), and Yaroslava MAHUCHIKH (Ukrainian – Athlete).