The Spanish Olympic Committee received the IOC Sustainable Travel Award

Cascais will host the 2024 ANOC General Assembly
October 27, 2023
The NOCs of North Macedonia and Albania signed a memorandum of understanding
November 2, 2023

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced  the winners of the first-ever Climate Action Awards, honoring athletes, International Federations (IFs) and National Olympic Committees (NOCs) for their efforts to fight against climate change.

The IOC set up three award categories — sustainable travel, innovation and athlete advocacy, and received more than 70 applications from across the Olympic Movement. British fencer Marcus Mepstead won the sustainable travel award in the athlete category, and World Sailing and the Spanish Olympic Committee won the award in the IF category and the NOC category respectively.

Since developing its sustainability strategy, the Spanish Olympic Committee has focused on travel as one of its key lines of action. This has included promoting sustainable mobility by using electric and hybrid vehicles from Worldwide Olympic Partner Toyota, and prioritising the use of trains for domestic staff travel. NOC staff have also increased the use of virtual and online meetings, whenever possible.

The IOC President Τhomas Bach presented the IOC Climate Action Award to Alejandro Blanco, President of the Spanish Olympic Committee during the  52nd General Assembly of the European Olympic Committees (EOC), held in Istanbul, Turkey.