The Annual Awards of Hellenic Olympic Committee

The Order of Merit awarded to the Portuguese athletes Patrícia Mamona and Auriol Dongmo
May 15, 2022
Anti-doping education program for the Mediterranean Games “Oran 2022”
May 23, 2022

After two years of absence due to the pandemic, the Hellenic Olympic Committee (HOC) held the Annual Honorary Awards in a ceremony full of splendor and emotion which reminded everyone that, in difficult times, Sports unites and triumphs.

The ceremony took place at the HOC Amphitheater, in the presence of the President of the Hellenic Republic Katerina Sakellaropoulou, Minister of Sports Lefteris Avgenakis, the Governor of Attica George Patoulis, the ICMG Secretary General Iakovos Filippousis, the Ambassador of Japan to Greece Yasunori Nakayama, the Ambassador of People’s Republic of China to Greece Xiao Junzheng, the General Secretary of Sports George Mavrotas and many personalities from sports, politics and arts.

At the event, which was broadcast live on television, the athletes and their coaches were awarded for the medals they won at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, such as Miltos Tentoglou, Stefanos Douskos, National Men water polo team, Lefteris Petrounias, as well as all the athletes who won medals at World and European Championships in 2021.

HOC President Spyros Capralos also awarded the Ambassador of Japan to Greece, Yasunori Nakayama, for the successful organization of the Tokyo Olympic Games. Μr. Filippousis awarded the journalist Giannis Mamouzelos.

Finally, the members of the Olympic Flame Ceremonies, Choreographer Artemis Ignatiou, High Priestess Xanthi Georgiou, music composer Giannis Psimadas and the entire team of priestesses and kouroi were awarded for their participation and outstanding contribution in the Lighting and Handover Olympic Flame Ceremonies.