Julian Pace Bonello was reconfirmed as President of the Maltese Olympic Committee

The Hellenic Olympic Committee celebrates the World Judo Day 2021 with refugee children
November 27, 2021
EuroBasket 2021 MVP Sonja Vasic appointed Sports Director of the Serbian Olympic Committee
November 30, 2021

Julian Pace Bonello was reconfirmed as President of the Maltese Olympic Committee at the Elective General Assembly held at St. Aloysius College.

Pace Bonello who was contested by Chairman of the Olympic Committee’s Medical Commission Dr. Kirill Micallef Stafrace. Pace Bonello collected 62 votes. Dr. Micallef Stafrace garnered 20 votes whilst one vote was invalid. This will be Pace Bonello’s third term as President of the local governing body of elite sport.

Newcomer Kevin Azzopardi was elected as the new Secretary General with 50 votes against the 32 that Joseph Cassar obtained. This election brings to an end Cassar’s thirty year tenure.

No election was necessary for the other posts on the Executive Board which were uncontested.

Paul Sultana takes on the role of Deputy President, replacing William Beck who did not seek re-election. Similarly in the role of Director of Sport, outgoing Director Ivan Balzan will be replaced by former Olympian Charlene Attard who will be in charge of all technical preparations for Team Malta. David Azzopardi was reconfirmed as the Director of Finance as he was uncontested.

The Executive Board will see previous directors Dr Lucienne Attard, Maria Vella-Galea and Johanna Grech retain their place and will be joined by newcomer Nigel McCarthy.

The ICMG President Davide Tizzano and the Secretary General Iakovos Filippousis sent a congratulation letter to the President Julian Pace Bonello.