The 20th Edition of the Maltese Olympic Committee Sports Awards

Τhe Batroun region is officially the sailing capital of Lebanon
December 19, 2023
The best athletes in Slovenia for 2023
December 21, 2023

The Maltese Olympic Committee hosted the 20th edition of its annual Gala Sports Awards, an evening dedicated to celebrating the pinnacle of athletic achievement in Malta.

This annual event brings together the nation’s sporting elite who are honoured for their outstanding accomplishments in the international sporting scene.  This year was particularly special due to the success Malta achieved in the Games of the Small States of Europe which were hosted in Malta in June and which resulted in Malta achieving the highest ever medal tally.

The highest honour of the evening, the Gold Award,  was presented to Clayton Castaldi,  who wrote the history books in the game of pool in Malta when he was crowned world champion after triumphing in the singles tournament final that was played in Agadir, Morocco. Castaldi was the first-ever Maltese player to lift the world title in the singles competition.

The Maltese Olympic Committee inducted two prominent figures of Maltese sport, Robert Ebejer and Jack Schiavone, into its coveted Hall of Fame, which gives recognition to those athletes, officials, administrators and sports journalists who, in their work, have strived and worked to spread the spirit of the Olympic ideals.

Award Winners

Gold Award

Clayton Castaldi (Pool)

Silver Award

Sue Abela (Bowling), Under 18 Team (Pool), Scott Muscat (Pool), Katrina Micallef (Sailing), Richard Schultheis (Sailing), Marlon Attard (Shooting)

Bronze Award

U/18 National Team Women (Basketball), Lazam Abras (Body Building & Fitness)

Cynthia Frendo Duca (Bowling), Kayden Lagana (Bowling), Mauro Anastasi (Bowling),  Men’s Team (Golf), Dejan Grech (Pool), Men’s Team  (Pool), Team U23 (Pool), Team Elusive (Sailing) Gianluca Chetcuti (Shooting), Team Malta Open (Table Football), Kim Camilleri Lagana (Weightlifting), Rylee Borg (Weightlifting), Tenishia Thornton (Weightlifting), Women’s Team (Weightlifting)

Special Award

Senior Waterpolo Team (Men),  U15 MEN WATERPOLO National Team , U17 WOMEN WATERPOLO National Team, U17 MEN WATERPOLO National Team, Thea Parnis Coleiro (Athletics), Roderick Theuma (Body Building and Fitness), Isaac Bezzina (Judo), Katryna Esposito (Judo), Thyis Antonelli (Karate), Team Malta (Malta Racing Club), Nordai Desira (Pool), Steven Muscat (Pool), Tonio Mifsud (Pool), Team +60 (Pool), Benjamin Vassallo (Sailing), Colette Sultana (Squash), Lijana Sultana (Squash), Alycia Cassar (Taekwondo), Michela Scerri (Taekwondo),  Francesca Curmi (Tennis), Danica Bonello Spiteri (Triathlon) Kai Azzopardi (Triathlon) Mixed Team (Weightlifting)

Accomplishment Award

Clive Farrugia (Shooting), Thyis Antonelli (Karate), Charles Aquilina (Table-Football), Jason Pisani (Table-Football), John Zammit (Table-Football), Jurgen Balzan (Table-Football), Mark Gauci (Table-Football), Massimo Cremona (Table-Football), Samuel Bartolo (Table-Football), Team Bormla (Table-Football), Team Valletta SC (Table-Football), Team Veterans (Table-Football), Francesca Curmi (Tennis), Marlon Attard (Shooting), Kayden Lagana’ (Bowlling)