Cyprus finished 2nd in the 18th Games of the Small States of Europe

Greece will award Thomas Bach the highest honor
June 7, 2019
Beach Handball and Beach Soccer Draws Results for “Patras 2019”
June 10, 2019

The 18th Games of the Small States of Europe came to end in Budva, Montenegro on 1 June 2019.

These 5 days have been a fantastic celebration of European sport and an occasion of solidarity, showing that even small countries can dream bigger.

Luxembourg topped the overall medal table with 77 medals (26 gold, 27 silver and 24 bronze), followed by Cyprus with 64 (21 gold, 27 silver and 16 bronze), Iceland with 55 (19 gold, 13 silver, 23 bronze).

A record was also scored by hosting NOC of Montenegro, who won 35 medals (15 gold, 13 silver, 20 bronze). It was the first time that Montenegro hosted a multi-sport event, gathering 835 athletes competing in ten disciplines around the five cities of Budva, Tivat, Bar, Cetinje, Podgorica.

The Closing Ceremony took place in the friendly and joyful environment of Slovenska Plaza, the Athletes Village in Slovenska plaza resort.

The event was also attended by IOC President Thomas Bach, IOC Deputy Director Pere Mirò, along with EOC President Janez Kocijančič and EOC Secretary General Raffaele Pagnozzi.

“You showed to the world how big is the Olympic spirit in your beautiful country”, said IOC President Thomas Bach.

Kocijančič also praised the organisation of the Games and warmly thanked the lifeblood of any Games, the volunteers. Over 350 young people who worked so hard and with enthusiasm to make the event a success.

“Montenegro has done the European Olympic Movement proud by hosting great Games, in a sustainable way that will leave the country with many positive sporting legacies,” Kocijancic said.

The country of Montenegro proudly took on the baton of the GSSE from San Marino in 2017 and passed it to the next Games Organisers, the National Olympic Committee of Andorra.

Τhe medal table

1 LUXEMBOURG 26 27 24 77
2 CYPRUS 21 27 16 64
3 ICELAND 19 13 23 55
4 ΜONACO 15 13 20 48
5 MONTENEGRO 15 6 14 35
7 ΜΑLTA 6 12 9 27
8 ΑNDORA 3 4 11 18
9 SAN MARINO 1 4 7 12